2024 NAACP Image Awards: Victoria Monét and Usher Dominate Music Nominations

2024 NAACP Image Awards: Victoria Monét

The nominations for the 2024 NAACP Image Awards have been unveiled, showcasing a notable dominance by Victoria Monét in the music categories with six nods, including Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Album for JAGUAR II. Usher, the R&B icon gearing up for the Super Bowl LVIII Halftime Show, follows closely with five nominations, including Outstanding Male Artist and a nod for Entertainer of the Year alongside other industry luminaries.

Derrick Johnson, NAACP President, expressed excitement about celebrating the nominees’ outstanding contributions across various artistic mediums, including film, television, music, literature, and podcasts. Scott Mills, President of BET Media Group, highlighted the brilliance of this year’s nominees, emphasizing the pride in honoring the rich legacy of the NAACP.

Victoria Monét’s impressive six nominations include categories such as Outstanding Female Artist and Outstanding Album for JAGUAR II. Meanwhile, Usher’s five nominations encompass Outstanding Male Artist and an Entertainer of the Year nomination alongside prominent figures in the industry.

Voting is currently open for fans to determine the winners on the NAACP Image Awards’ official website, with voting closing on February 24 at 9 p.m. ET. The 55th NAACP Image Awards ceremony is set to air live on Saturday, March 16, at 8 p.m. ET on BET and CBS.

Here is a glimpse of some of the categories and nominees:

Outstanding New Artist

  • FLO
  • Jordan Ward
  • Leon Thomas
  • October London
  • Victoria Monét

Outstanding Male Artist

  • Burna Boy
  • Chris Brown
  • Davido
  • Jon Batiste
  • Usher

Outstanding Female Artist

  • Ari Lennox
  • H.E.R.
  • Janelle Monáe
  • Tems
  • Victoria Monét

Outstanding Album

  • Clear 2: Soft Life – Summer Walker
  • For All The Dogs – Drake
  • I Told Them… – Burna Boy
  • JAGUAR II – Victoria Monét
  • The Age of Pleasure – Janelle Monáe

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

  • “Boyfriend” – Usher
  • “Cobra” – Megan Thee Stallion
  • “How We Roll” – Ciara
  • “On My Mama” – Victoria Monét
  • “Sensational” – Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay

Outstanding Original Score for TV/Film

  • American Fiction – Laura Karpman (Orion Pictures/Amazon MGM Studios)
  • Rustin – Branford Marsalis (Netflix)
  • The Color Purple – Kris Bowers (Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • The Other Black Girl – EmmoLei Sankofa (Hulu)
  • Transformers: Rise of the Beasts – Jongnic Bontemps (Paramount+)

Entertainer of the Year

  • Colman Domingo
  • Fantasia Barrino
  • Halle Bailey
  • Keke Palmer
  • Usher

The anticipation builds as fans eagerly await the announcement of the winners at the prestigious NAACP Image Awards ceremony.