Dinner Party Is Back With A New Song “Insane” Featuring Ant Clemons

Dinner Party has returned. Ant Clemons has joined the Grammy-nominated quintet comprising Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin, and 9th Wonder for their new track “Insane.” Martin and Sounwave (Taylor Swift, Thundercat) created the single, which samples Mtume’s 1983 hit “Juicy Fruit.”

On the track, Clemons puts a lover in the driver’s seat of his raging passions, drifting between flirting lanes for a wild time. A supporting visual for “Insane” directed and animated by Juppi Juppsen may be seen here.

Dinner Party’s first collaboration track in over three years, “Insane,” releases ahead of their Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival debut in April. Dinner Party: Dessert, a star-studded version of their self-titled 2020 debut EP, was nominated for Best Progressive R&B Album at the 64th Grammy Awards in 2022.

Glasper has since published the third episode of Black Radio. It took home the award for Best R&B Album at the 65th Grammy Awards in February. In May, Glasper will perform on the first night of Mary J. Blige’s Strength of a Woman Festival and Conference. Glasper will also appear at the second annual Blue Note Jazz Festival Napa Valley later this summer.

Martin’s most recent release, 2021’s DRONES, was nominated for Best Progressive R&B Album this year. Steve Lacy’s Gemini Rights won the prize in the end. Arin Ray, Leon Bridges, D Smoke, James Fauntleroy, Kim Burrell, and others appeared on DRONES. Clemons, who co-wrote on Mary J. Blige and Kehlani’s 2022 albums, hasn’t released a new effort since last year’s 4Play. He also made an appearance on Robert Glasper’s Black Radio III.