Xscape Accepts Lady of Soul Award

At the 2022 Soul Train Awards on Saturday night, the venerable R&B trio Xscape was presented with the Lady of Soul Award. Kandi Burruss, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, LaTocha Scott, and Tamika Scott were all in attendance to get their honorary award. Jermaine Dupri, who found them and signed them to So So Def Records, gave them their prize.

“We had to say thanks to Jermaine because like he said, he had a vision when a lot of people didn’t. And for that, we are forever grateful to be able to still be here on this stage because you opened the door,” said Burruss. “Thank you, God, for our voices singing in the church together… that’s what helped us learn our harmonies.”

LaTocha added, “Definitely want to thank God for all of this. I thank God for the gift. That’s the reason we’re up here and you guys are celebrating us.”