Brent Faiyaz Announces New Album ‘Wasteland’

Brent Faiyaz will release a new album later this year. Wasteland is the sophomore album from the Maryland native, and it serves as the logical follow-up to 2017’s Sonder Son.

Wasteland’s official release date is unclear. Faiyaz did, however, provide its tracklist, features, and artwork.

The 19-track album, executive produced by Jonathan “Freeze” Wells, will include four of Faiyaz’s prior releases, dating back to 2020’s “Dead Man Walking.” It will be confirmed as gold in June 2021.

Faiyaz collaborated with Tyler, the Creator on “Gravity,” the album’s second single, in January 2021.

Wasteland will also feature Drake’s “Wasting Time” and “Mercedes.” The former single, produced by the Neptunes, was his first top 10 hit on urban radio as a lead artist.

Currently, “Wasting Time” has had over 57.5 million Spotify streams.

“Mercedes,” the album’s third early single, has been played over 25.9 million times on the same music platform.

Wasteland features Alicia Keys, Tre’ Amani, and Joony in addition to Drake and Tyler, the Creator.

The-Dream (Mariah Carey, Beyoncé), Atupele Ndisale (Snoh Aalegra, Vince Staples), Steve Lacy (Ravyn Lenae, Fousheé), Daniel Aged (Frank Ocean, FKA twigs), and DJ Dahi (Eli Derby, Mahalia) are among the confirmed producers and songwriters on Faiyaz’s future album.

LosHendrix, a Grammy-nominated producer who has collaborated with musicians SZA and Givon, is also slated to contribute writing and producing abilities to Faiyaz’s Wasteland. During the Grammy season last year, LosHendrix spoke with Rated R&B about his creative process with Faiyaz.

“Brent and I have a process that’s different than most people I work with because we’ve been working together for so long,” LosHendrix told Rated R&B.

“It just has to be different than everything that’s out and that we did before, so it can take a bit longer, but when we find the sweet spot, it’s special.”

Upon shaking up the internet with the unveiling of Wasteland’s tracklist and artwork, Faiyaz rolled out its album trailer. 

Faiyaz released the F**k the World EP and three-pack effort via Dropbox in the interim.

Brent Faiyaz Wasteland Tracklist

“Villain’s Theme”

“Loose Change”

“Gravity” featuring Tyler, the Creator

“Heal Your Heart” (Interlude)

“Skit: Egomaniac”

“All Mine”

“Price of Fame”

“Ghetto Gatsby” featuring Alicia Keys

“Wasting Time” featuring Drake

“Rolling Stone”

“FYTB” featuring Joony

“Skit: Oblivion”

“Dead Man Walking”

“Addiction” featuring Tre’ Amani

“Role Model”

“Jackie Brown”

“Bad Luck”

“Skit: Wake Up Call”